Skip to main content

Children's & Youth Services | South Dakota Children's Book Awards | Prairie Bud Nominees 2010-2011

Prairie Bud Nominees 2010-2011


Book Cover from

Mail Harry to the Moon by Robie Harris and Michael Emberley (Illustrator)

2011 South Dakota Children's Book Award Winners

And the winners are:

Mail Harry to the Moon, written by Robie Harris and Michael Emberley (Illustrator) and illustrated by Michael Emberley, is the winner of the 2011 Prairie Bud Award. Finishing second was I Will Surprise My Friend by Mo Willems.

Written by James Deem, Bodies from the Ice: Melting Glaciers and the Recovery of the Past garnered the most votes to win the Prairie Pasque Award for 2011. In second place was K.A. Nuzum's Leanin' Dog.

This year's contest, sponsored by the South Dakota Library Association, featured two lists of sixteen nominated titles. To qualify to vote, students were to read at least five books from the list of nominees for their grade level, and then vote for their favorite.

Thanks to SD public and school librarians, the real winners in the contest were nearly 15,100 students across the state who read the books and chose a favorite, about 12% more than in 2010. The 93 voting surveys submitted by school and public libraries in 2011 represented a 10% increase over the previous year. 10,222 votes were cast by grades K-2 students for books on the Prairie Bud list; 4,871 students in grades 3-5 voted in the Prairie Pasque contest.

Prairie Bud Votes 2010-2011

Title of Book

No. of Votes

Mail Harry to the Moon


I Will Surprise My Friend


Buster Goes to Cowboy Camp


Smash! Crash!


Black Book of Colors


There's Nothing to Do on Mars


A Visitor for Bear


A Couple of Boys Have the Best Week Ever


I'm Really Not Tired


What to Do about Alice


Wolfsnail: a Backyard Predator


Whistling Wings


One Boy


Albert the Fix-it Man


Our Children Can Soar


Papa and Me


The Prairie Bud, Prairie Bloom & Prairie Pasque Children's Book Awards are sponsored by the South Dakota Library Association . Prairie Bud winners are determined by South Dakota kindergarten, first and second grade students. Prairie Pasque winners are determined by South Dakota third, fourth, and fifth grade students. Students are encouraged to read and vote for their one favorite book of the year from the masterlists of titles. The books receiving the most votes from the students win the awards. A committee of educators and librarians select the books nominated for the awards.

Vote Today for South Dakota Children's Book Awards 2018-2019

South Dakota State Library Cornerstone
SDSL's e-Newsletter articles include:
  - Children and YA Services
  - Maker Spaces
  - School Libraries
  - Summer Reading
and many more!

A School Library Blog from SDSL
 collect plus connect logo

Training calendar

2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          

More CE Events



Laura Kelly EMAIL
Children's & Youth Services Coordinator
605-773-3131, Option 5, 1

Alissa Adams EMAIL
School Library Technology Coordinator
605-773-3131, Option 5, 3

The South Dakota State Library provides leadership for innovation and excellence in libraries and services to state government.

South Dakota State Library | South Dakota State Historical Society | South Dakota Department of Education | State of South Dakota

Accessibility Policy | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy