Skip to main content

Braille & Talking Book

Access Services

Library Outreach/ LSTA


South Dakota State Library
MacKay Building
800 Governors Dr.
Pierre, SD 57501

1-605-773-6962 (FAX)
(SD Only)

Hours: Mon-Fri
8 am - 5 pm CT
7 am - 4 pm MT

Follow Me on Pinterest

About SDSL | Publications | News and Press Releases | South Dakotans selected for library scholarship

Press Release

For Immediate Release: April 30, 2010
Contact: Mary Stadick Smith, South Dakota Department of Education, (605) 773-7228, Email Link

South Dakotans selected for library scholarship

PIERRE, S.D. — Fourteen South Dakota librarians will receive funds for continuing education in library sciences thanks to a grant from the Laura Bush Foundation and the Institute of Museum and Library Services. The grant was made possible through a collaboration between the South Dakota State Library, the Idaho Commission for Libraries, the Montana State Library, and the Wyoming State Library. In the four-state region, 50 scholarships have been awarded to educate librarians and school library media specialists who work in the region's rural communities.

Students will study for either a master's degree in library science from the University of North Texas distance education program, or a school library media endorsement through distance programs at Black Hills State University, Montana State University, or the University of Montana.

The following South Dakota residents will receive tuition assistance to obtain their Master's Degree in Library Science:

  • Shawn Behrends, Madison
  • Debra Moor, Kadoka
  • Joyce Moore, Vermillion
  • Sabina Mustic, Sioux Falls
  • Robin Schrupp, Milbank
  • Becky Tasa, Yankton
  • Shari Theroux, Aberdeen
  • Melissa Weber, Canistota

The following South Dakota residents will receive tuition assistance in obtaining their K-12 School Library Media Endorsement:

  • Emily Blackwelder, Sioux Falls
  • Kristi Herting, Watertown
  • Angela Ostrander, Faith
  • Virginia Sannes, Aberdeen
  • Tina Eisenbraun, Rapid City
  • DaNann Kistler, Hartford

The grant pays 80 percent of tuition and a stipend to attend the South Dakota Library Association's Annual Conference. For students pursing the master's degree, travel expenses to attend two required meetings with the University of North Texas faculty will also be covered. Following the completion of either program, grant recipients will be required to work at least two years in a professional library position in one of the four states.


Press Release
"State Library recognizes 21st Century School Libraries
posted Monday June 3, 2019

State Library Board
July 11, 2019: Pierre

The South Dakota State Library provides leadership for innovation and excellence in libraries and services to state government.

South Dakota State Library | South Dakota State Historical Society | South Dakota Department of Education | State of South Dakota

Accessibility Policy | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy