Skip to main content

Braille & Talking Book

Access Services

Library Outreach/ LSTA


South Dakota State Library
MacKay Building
800 Governors Dr.
Pierre, SD 57501

1-605-773-6962 (FAX)
(SD Only)

Hours: Mon-Fri
8 am - 5 pm CT
7 am - 4 pm MT

Follow Me on Pinterest

About SDSL | Publications | News and Press Releases | South Dakota librarians awarded certification

Media Release

South Dakota librarians awarded certification

PIERRE, S.D. — The State Library awarded certification to 30 librarians from 21 communities at the annual South Dakota Library Association conference on September 24 in Rapid City. The voluntary certification program recognizes library directors and staff members who have met the certification standards. The program's goals are to help library directors and staff acquire, maintain and develop skills through continuing education in order to provide better library service to their communities. Through this program, the State Library acknowledges public library directors and staff who update their knowledge and skills on a continuing basis. Further information about the certification process can be found at

Congratulations to the following librarians:

  • Amber Wilde , Grace Balloch Memorial, Spearfish
  • DeeAnn Cole, Alcester Public Library
  • Diane Althoff, Gregory Public Library
  • Edith Nelson, Canton Public Library
  • Jody Carlson, Grant County Public Library
  • Kathleen Wibbels, Yankton Community Library
  • Kim Taylor, Emil M. Larson Public Library, Clark
  • Mary Jo Parker, Lake Andes Carnegie Public Library
  • Nancy Sabbe, Madison Public Library
  • Vicki Anderson, Northwest Regional Library, Buffalo
  • Wendy Brunnemann, Wall Community Library
  • Jeri Light, Siouxland Libraries
  • Laura Olson, Canton Public Library
  • Michelle Koller, Edith B. Siegrist Vermillion Public Library
  • Stephanie Brewer, Grace Balloch Memorial Library, Spearfish
  • Syrena Maranell, Alexander Mitchell Public Library , Aberdeen


Press Release
"State Library recognizes 21st Century School Libraries
posted Monday June 3, 2019

State Library Board
July 11, 2019: Pierre

The South Dakota State Library provides leadership for innovation and excellence in libraries and services to state government.

South Dakota State Library | South Dakota State Historical Society | South Dakota Department of Education | State of South Dakota

Accessibility Policy | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy