Skip to main content


South Dakota State Library
MacKay Building
800 Governors Dr.
Pierre, SD 57501

1-605-773-6962 (FAX)
(SD Only) Email

Hours: Mon-Fri
8 am - 5 pm CT
7 am - 4 pm MT

Follow Me on Pinterest

About SDSL | Publications | News and Press Releases | State Library recognizes 21st Century School Libraries

Media Release

For Immediate Release: Tuesday, May 24, 2016 Web Link to South Dakota Department of Education
Contact: Mary Stadick Smith, South Dakota Department of Education, (605) 773-7228, Email Link or
Ruth Raveling, South Dakota Department of Education, (605) 773-2593, Link

State Library recognizes 21st Century School Libraries

PIERRE, S.D. — Twelve school libraries have received the 21st Century School Library Award for 2016. The 21st Century School Library Award recognizes school libraries as Effective, Enhanced or Exemplary, based on performance in three areas: place, which refers to the learning environment (both physical and online), programming and professional.

Applicants conduct a self-assessment and provide evidence of their ability to meet South Dakota's guidelines for school libraries. Award status is valid for a three-year period.

Representatives of the selected libraries will be honored at the annual Systems Change Conference Oct. 14 in Oacoma.


Central High School (Aberdeen)


Lucy Wang

Jason Uttermark

Flandreau Middle/High School


Lori Williams

Ross Rollinger

Gettysburg K-12


Mary Quiett

Wendy Smith

Harrisburg High School


Sheleen Bauer

Kevin Lein

Lennox Jr. High/High School


Michael Larson

Chad Allison

Sturgis Brown High School (Meade)


Scottie Bruch

Pete Wilson

Sturgis Williams Middle School (Meade)


Scottie Bruch

Ann Nonnast

Georgia Morse Middle School (Pierre)


Renae Lehman

Kyley Cumbow

St. Thomas More Middle School (Rapid City Catholic School System)


Jenelle Kirchoff

Keiz Shultz

Edison Middle School (Sioux Falls)


Kjerstin Smith

Steve Griffith

Creekside Elementary School (Spearfish)


Dianne Hemminger

Daniel Olson

Watertown High School


Jean Moulton

Michael Butts

Detailed information on the 21st Century School Library Award is available on the South Dakota State Library's website at


Mango Languages will no longer be available through the State Library as of October 1, 2017.

We are pleased to announce Pronunciator, a resource with over 80 different languages.

State Library Board
February 13, 2018, Pierre

Job Opportunity!
The SD State Library is hiring a Library Associate!

Looking for
The web site previously administered by the South Dakota Library Network will be taken down as of July 28, 2017. If any libraries still have links to this site on their library web sites, those links should be removed.

SDSL Public Library Trustee Wiki Web Link to Trustee Wiki
A general overview of trustee duties and responsibilities, issues, and skills to develop.

Event calendar

          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

More CE Events


The South Dakota State Library provides leadership for innovation and excellence in libraries and services to state government.

South Dakota State Library | South Dakota State Historical Society | South Dakota Department of Education | State of South Dakota

Accessibility Policy | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy