Government PCs Accessible
If you are experiencing problems accessing any of the databases contact an Electronic Resources Coordinator at 605-773-3131 or via email.
- Aberdeen American News (1995-present)(via Newsbank)
Find full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and much more from current and archived issues of the Aberdeen American News. Updated daily, it includes obituaries, editorials, announcements, sports, real estate and other sections.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
The Aberdeen American News will be unavailable after June 30, 2010. - Aberdeen American News Historical Newspapers (via Newsbank)
Find full-text articles from scanned images of the Aberdeen American, 1907-1922, and Aberdeen Daily News, 1885-1922.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
Aberdeen American News Historical Newspapers will be unavailable after June 30, 2010. - America's News Magazines (via Newsbank)
Full-text articles from 26 popular news magazines. Browse by title or search current or archived issues.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
America's News Magazines will be unavailable after June 30, 2010. - AncestryLibrary
Of interest to those researching local history and family histories. Includes U.S. Federal Census records from 1790 thru 1930, immigration records, military records, the Social Security Death Index, the family history library and more.
Available exclusively on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses, as well as on PC's of SD State Government.
NOT licensed for access by use of library cards. Click for more info.
- Archive Grid
provides online access to nearly a million descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. Available exclusively on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses, as well as on PC's of SD State Government. NOT available for access at home. - Associations Unlimited
Associations Unlimited will be unavailable after December 31, 2009
Contains information for approximately 455,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations. Available exclusively on PC's of SD State Government. - CAMIO
contains fine art and decorative art from pre-history through contemporary works. All content is rights-cleared for educational use in the classroom or to illustrate papers, Web projects and other assignments. Available exclusively on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses, as well as on PC's of SD State Government. NOT available for access at home. - Capital Journal (December 2007-current) (via Newsbank)
Find full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and more from current and archived issues of the Pierre Capital Journal. Updated daily, it includes obituaries, editorials, announcements, sports, and other sections.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
Capital Journal will be unavailable after June 30, 2010. - Daily Republic, The (July 30, 2008-current) (via Newsbank)
Find full-text articles on selected local news, issues, events, people and more from current and archived issues of the Mitchell Daily Republic. Updated daily, it includes obituaries, editorials, announcements, sports, and other sections.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
Daily Republic will be unavailable after June 30, 2010. - EBSCOHost (all)
Links to six EBSCOHost databases: Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts, Teacher Reference Center, and Regional Business News.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 70+ SDLN-member libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- Farm Forum (2005-current) (via Newsbank)
Find full-text articles on weekly regional agricultural news from current and archived issues of the Farm Forum.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
Farm Forum will be unavailable after June 30, 2010. - Gale Virtual Reference Library
Core collection of online reference books in the following subject areas-health, history, government & law, science, education and business. These resources are available to an unlimited number of users at one time.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- HeritageQuest
Of interest to those researching local history and family histories, it includes U.S. Federal Census records from 1790 thru 1930; 25,000+ family and local history books (every word searchable); the PERiodical Source Index/PERSIT (a comprehensive subject index covering more than 6,500 genealogy & local history periodicals); and Revolutionary War Pension & Bounty Land Warrant Application Files.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- InfoTrac (all)
Links to six Gale InfoTrac databases. Discovering Collection (grades 6-12); InfoTrac Junior Edition (middle schools); Junior Reference Collection; Kids InfoBits (grades K-5); Professional Collection; and InfoTrac Student Edition (high schools). Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 70+ SDLN-member libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- Learning Express Library
Online learning platform of 300+ practice tests covering ACT, SAT, GED, and more. Complete answer explanations and study suggestions.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- LexisNexis Congressional, Statistical and State Capital
Provides access to state, federal and statistical information including the Federal Register, Congressional Record, state resources and compiled statistical resources.
Available 1) from home & office using an individual library card issued by SD State Library or 2) on PC's inside the SD State Library. Click for more info.
- LitFinder (formerly Poem Finder and Story Finder)
Provides full-text poems and short stories. Available exclusively on PC's of SD State Government.
- netLibrary
Full text of 10,000+ commercially published books in the arts, humanities, social sciences, life and physical sciences, business, computers & more, plus Cliffs Notes.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. Click for more info.
- Newsbank Special Reports
NewsBank's Special Reports focus on topics of current interest. They include content from sources throughout the world to provide a global perspective, current and background information, statistics, maps, images, websites, and suggested search terms. New information is added daily to featured and current reports.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
Newsbank Special Reports will be unavailable after June 30, 2010. - ProQuest (1986+)
Provides the full text (image or text+graphics) from 1,700+ magazines/journals and newspapers for k-12, college, and general users, including Barron's.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- Rapid City Journal (via Newsbank)
Offers content currently available on the Rapid City Journal web site. Find full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and more. Updated daily, it includes obituaries, editorials, announcements, sports, and more.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
Rapid City Journal will be unavailable after June 30, 2010. - Readers’ Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
Searchable online indexing of 375 of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Available only within the State Library building. 1 simultaneous user.
- ReferenceUSA
A directory of US businesses, governments and people.
Available exclusively on PC's of SD State Government.
- Sanborn Maps-SD
The Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps for 82 South Dakota communities from 1867 to 1970.
Available 1) from home office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- SIRS Discoverer (grades K-9)
Full-text articles and graphics from more than 1,600 U.S. and international magazines, newspapers and U.S. government documents, which were carefully selected for their educational content, interest and level of readability for middle and elementary curriculum topics.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- SIRS Issues Researcher® (grades 6-12)
A general reference database containing thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- South Dakota Newspaper Association/SDNA Public & Legal Notices
Locate public and legal notices published in South Dakota Newspapers. Notices are archived for three months. This resource is provided as a public service by the South Dakota Newspaper Association members. There are no limits to access.
- South Dakota Newspapers (via Newsbank)
Newspaper content from Rapid City Journal, The Daily Republic (Mitchell), Aberdeen American News, Capital Journal (Pierre), Farm Forum and selected articles from AP content from the Sioux Falls area. New content is added daily.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
South Dakota Newspapers will be unavailable after June 30, 2010. - World Book Foreign Language Edition French and Spanish translations of the World Book Discovery Encyclopedia. Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos (Spanish Language Encyclopedia) Traducción de lengua española de la enciclopedia del descubrimiento del estudiante del libro del mundo. Los artículos, los mapas y las imágenes son incluidos. (Spanish-language translation of the World Book Student Discovery Encyclopedia. Articles, maps and images are included.) L'Encyclopédie Découverte (French Language Encyclopedia) L'Encyclopédie Découvertes (World Book Student Discovery Encyclopedia) Les articles, les images, le diccionaire visuel, les activités et les Websites consultés sont comprise. (French-language version of the World Book Student Discovery Encyclopedia. Articles, images, a visual dictionary, activities and reviewed websites are included.) Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- World Book Public Library Edition World Book version designed for public libraries. World Book Online for Kids (grades K-5) contains interactive games, easy-to-read articles and more. World Book Online Info Finder (grades 5-9) is designed to support student information needs with research tools and science project information along with encyclopedia articles. World Book Online Reference Center (grades 9-adult) includes encyclopedia, e-book and primary source content plus computer tutorials and life skills information. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- World Book School Edition World Book version designed for schools. World Book Kids (grades K-5) contains thousands of easy to read articles, interactive games, teacher resources and more. World Book Student (grades 5-9) contains encyclopedia articles, maps, images, timelines and more. World Book Advanced (grades 9-12+) is a powerful reference tool that includes encyclopedia, multimedia, e-book and primary source databases. World Book Discover (differentiated instruction, i.e.ESL, reluctant readers and adult learners) is a reference tool that includes encyclopedia, multimedia, e-book, and primary source databases. Features include article read aloud, and a job and life skills section.
- WorldCat & More FirstSearch indexes
A worldwide catalog of 56 million items found in 9,000+ libraries, including State Library & 25+ SD libraries. Additional indexes to books, articles, dissertations, archive material, and more available by selecting a different database to search. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. Click for more info.Users: You will be asked for your username and password to access. This is your State Library Card or SDLN Member Library Card barcode and password. If you need your password, you may call the State Library at 1-800-423-6665 (SD Only) or 605-773-3131 or your local library.




