South Dakota Newspapers
If you are experiencing problems accessing any of the databases contact an Electronic Services Coordinator at 605-773-3131 or via email.
Mega-sites for SD newspapers
- Aberdeen American News (1995-present)(via Newsbank)
Find full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and much more from current and archived issues of the Aberdeen American News. Updated daily, it includes obituaries, editorials, announcements, sports, real estate and other sections.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- America's News Magazines (via Newsbank)
Full-text articles from 26 popular news magazines. Browse by title or search current or archived issues.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. - Argus Leader, The (Sioux Falls) (1999-present) (via Newsbank)
Find full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and much more from current and archived issues of the The Argus Leader. Updated daily, it includes obituaries, editorials, announcements, sports, real estate and other sections.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- South Dakota Newspaper Association/SDNA Public & Legal Notices
Locate public and legal notices published in South Dakota Newspapers. Notices are archived for three months. This resource is provided as a public service by the South Dakota Newspaper Association members. There are no limits to access. - SD State Historical Society's Newspaper Project: about the project and a searchable database listing the specific issues of historic South Dakota newspapers in the SD State Archives on microfilm
- NewsLink listing of SD online newspapers
- AJR (American Journalism Review) listing of SD newspapers
SD newspapers: [back to top]
FT=full text of articles is available online
- Aberdeen American News FT online full text of selected news stories from the most recent seven days, as well as free indexing to an archive of stories published after 2001, which may be viewed in fulltext for $2.95/each.
- Argus Leader, The (Sioux Falls)
- Argus Leader Index 1996-July 2003 (including obituaries) via SDLN
- Argus Leader Index 1982-1995 via SDLN
- FT Argus Leader's website online full-text of selected news stories from the most recent seven days
- Argus Leader, The (Sioux Falls) (1999-present) (via Newsbank)
Find full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and much more from current and archived issues of the The Argus Leader. Updated daily, it includes obituaries, editorials, announcements, sports, real estate and other sections.
Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- Brookings Register FT click on Advanced Search for May, 1999+ indexing & fulltext
- Deadwood Historical Newspapers Index (1876-1894 via SDLN) indexes issues of these Deadwood papers: "Black Hills Pioneer," "Black Hills Times," and "Black Hills Champion"
- Huron Daily Plainsman FT click on Advanced Search for 2000+ indexing & fulltext
- Indian Country Today
- Indian Country Today index 1996-June, 2003 via SDLN
- FT the Indian Country Today website has full-text of selected news stories from March, 2000+
- Madison Daily Leader FT click on Search Archives for March, 2000+ indexing & fulltext
- Pierre Capital Journal FT click on Advanced Search for 1999+ indexing & fulltext of selected news stories
- Rapid City Journal
- Journal Index 1999+ via SDLN
- FT Journal's website May, 2000+ full-text (look for Archives in lower left column)
- Spearfish Black Hills Pioneer FT click on Advanced Search for December, 1999+ indexing & fulltext
- Watertown Public Opinion FT click on Advanced Search for September, 1999+ indexing & fulltext
- Yankton Press & Dakotan FT 1997+ indexing & fulltext (look for "SEARCH" box in lower right column)




