Popular press, magazines and books
If you are experiencing problems accessing any of the databases contact an Electronic Services Coordinator at 605-773-3131 or via email.
- Discovering Collection (grades 6-12)
Provides in-depth content for five core curriculum areas: literature, history, biography, science, and social studies. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 70+ SDLN-member libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. - Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos (Spanish Language Encyclopedia)
Traducción de lengua española de la enciclopedia del descubrimiento del estudiante del libro del mundo. Los artículos, los mapas y las imágenes son incluidos.
Spanish-language translation of the World Book Student Discovery Encyclopedia. Articles, maps and images are included. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Core collection of online reference books in the following subject areas-health, history, government & law, science, education and business. These resources are available to an unlimited number of users at one time. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. - InfoTrac Junior Edition Middle Schools (2001+)
Use this database (formerly SuperTOM Junior), to search magazines, newspapers, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, etc. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 70+ SDLN-member libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. - InfoTrac Student Edition High Schools (1985+)
Use this database (formerly SuperTOM), to search magazines, newspapers, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, etc. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 70+ SDLN-member libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. - Junior Reference Collection
A comprehensive, cross-curricular research tool that combines Gale's U*X*L products into one database to support classroom learning. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 70+ SDLN-member libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. - Kids Catalog (SDLN)
A library catalog designed for kids from birth thru 6th grade. There are no limits to access. - Kids InfoBits (grades K-5)
Gives children easy access to magazines, reference books, and newspaper articles that have been selected just for the age group in grades K-5. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 70+ SDLN-member libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. - L'Encyclopédie Découverte (French Language Encyclopedia)
L'Encyclopédie Découvertes (World Book Student Discovery Encyclopedia) Les articles, les images, le diccionaire visuel, les activités et les Websites consultés sont comprise.
French-language version of the World Book Student Discovery Encyclopedia. Articles, images, a visual dictionary, activities and reviewed websites are included. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- MasterFILE Premier (1975+)
Designed specifically for public libraries, MasterFILE Premier contains full text for 2,000+ periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues, etc. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 70+ SDLN-member libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- netLibrary
Full text of 10,000+ commercially published books in the arts, humanities, social sciences, life and physical sciences, business, computers & more, plus Cliff's Notes. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. Click for more info.
- NewsBank's America's Newspapers
Full text of current and archived electronic editions of nearly 700+ local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers-all in one easy to search interface. Includes the The Argus Leader, Aberdeen American News, Minneapolis Tribune, Denver Post, Washington Post, New York Times, etc. Available only within the State Library building.
- ProQuest (1986+)
Provides the full text (image or text+graphics) from 1,700+ magazines/journals and newspapers for k-12, college, and general users, including Barron's. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. - SIRS Discoverer (grades K-9)
Full-text articles and graphics from more than 1,600 U.S. and international magazines, newspapers and U.S. government documents, which were carefully selected for their educational content, interest and level of readability for middle and elementary curriculum topics. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. - SIRS Researcher® (grades 6-12)
A general reference database containing thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. - World Book Advanced (grades 9-12+)
Powerful reference tool that includes encyclopedia, multimedia, e-book, and primary source databases. Features include the ability to create timelines, save research to a personalized homepage, and more. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- World Book Kids (grades K-5)
This resource contains thousands of easy to read articles, interactive games, teacher resources and more. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- World Book Online Reference Center (grades 5-9)
Find all the articles from the 22-print volume set plus thousands more reference articles. World Book Online Reference Center has thousands of selected web links, historical features, audio, video and animation, student activities and more. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government.
- WorldCat (The OCLC Online Union Catalog)
A worldwide catalog of 56 million items found in 9,000+ libraries, including State Library & 25+ SD libraries. Available 1) from home & office using a library card issued by SD State Library or any other SDLN-member library; 2) on PC's in 400+ SD libraries & on their campuses; and 3) on PC's of SD State Government. Click for more info.Users: You will be asked for your username and password to access. This is your State Library Card or SDLN Member Library Card barcode and password. If you need your password, you may call the State Library at 1-800-423-6665 (SD Only) or 605-773-3131 or your local library.




