Subscribe in a reader

February 2011, Volume 3, Issue 2

Continuing Education Alert


Check Your Calendars!!

Public Library Survey
February 1-March 31

2011 National African American Read-in
February 1-28

Read Across America Day
March 2

Teen Tech Week
March 6-12

ACRL 2011 Conference
March 30-April 2

School Library Month
April

School Library Survey
April 1-May 18

National D.E.A.R. Day
April 12

National Library Week
April 10-16

South Dakota Library Week
April 10-16

National Preservation Week
April 24-30


Featured e-Resources of the Month
Electronic Resources help History Day research


Continuing Education

 

Public Library Survey opens February 1

The 2010 Public Library Survey opens on Feb. 1. If you’d like help with the basics of the Collect program or just have a few questions, attend the webinar on Feb. 15 or March 4. The February registration is open. The survey closes on March 31.

Library Challenge: Electronic Resources Edition 3

Are you up to the Challenge? Join us for the winter edition of the State Library Electronic Resources Challenge! It all happens online from January 17 through April 1 at sdlibrarychallenge.blogspot.com.

FEBRUARY 2011
MTWTFS/S
  1 2 3 4 5/6
7 8 9 10 11 12/13
14 15 16 17 18 19/20
21 22 23 24 25 26/27
28          
More CE Events

 


February 1

  • Health Reference Meetings
    (10:30 - 12:00 p.m. CT; 9:30 - 11:00 a.m. MT; Pierre + DDN: Aberdeen, Brookings, Hill City, Selby, Wagner, Watertown)

February 2

  • E-rate for Beginners
    (12:00 - 1:00 p.m. CT; 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. MT; online webinar)
    Have you heard of the federal E-rate program, but aren't sure if it is the right choice for your library? This program is a great opportunity for libraries to receive discounts on telecommunications and Internet access, but applicants are sometimes nervous about program complexity. However, recent changes in program rules streamlined the application process for many libraries.

February 3

  • Introduction to the New ProQuest Platform
    (10:00 – 11:00 a.m. CT; 9:00 – 10:00 a.m. MT; online webinar)
  • Spring Nonfiction Book Buzz 2011
    (1:00 - 2:00 p.m. CT; 12:00 - 1:00 p.m. MT; online webinar)
    Nonfiction publishing continues to evolve, taking advantage of new media and resources to deliver high quality content to readers grades K-12. For educational reasons, enjoyment, and personal growth, kids and teens need access to a collection of quality nonfiction books as do parents, educators and counselors.
  • ProQuest Administrator Module
    (1:00 - 2:00 p.m. CT; 12:00 – 1:00 p.m. MT; online webinar)
  • SIRS Discoverer
    (2:00 - 3:00 p.m. CT; 1:00 – 2:00 p.m. MT; online webinar)

February 4

  • Free Content for Library Collections
    (11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. CT: 10:00 – 11:30 a.m. MT; online webcast)
    Michael Galloway and John Mark Ockerbloom will talk about free books and other materials that are readily available on the Internet and how you can add these materials to the collections you already provide access to at your library.
  • Introduction to the New ProQuest Platform
    (1:00 – 2:00 p.m. CT; 12:00 – 1:00 p.m. MT; online webinar)

February 8

  • ProQuest Administrator Module
    (1:00 - 2:00 p.m. CT; 12:00 – 1:00 p.m. MT; online webinar)
  • Teen Book Buzz Spring 2011
    (12:00 – 1:00 p.m. CT; 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. MT; online webinar)
    Our YA publishers have fantastic books to tell you about from tried and true authors as well as some very special debuts. There’s romance, suspense, faeries and fairy tale twists, futuristic societies, and plenty more. It’s guaranteed to be a fun and lively webcast.
  • Introduction to the New ProQuest Platform
    (12:00 – 1:00 p.m. CT; 11:00 – 12:00 p.m. MT; online webinar)

February 9

February 10

February 11

  • AncestryLibrary
    (2:00 – 4:00 p.m. CT; 1:00 – 3:00 p.m. MT; online webinar)

February 14

February 15

February 16

February 17

February 18

February 21

February 22

  • Introduction to the New ProQuest Platform
    (10:00 – 11:00 a.m. CT; 9:00 – 10:00 a.m. MT; online webinar)
  • Spring 2011 Nonfiction Announcements
    (1:00 - 2:00 p.m. CT; 12:00 - 1:00 p.m. MT; online webinar)
    What are your young readers asking for? It seems like libraries can never have enough books on sports, vehicles, art, weather, weapons, celebrities and animals, preferably strange and silly looking ones! Four leading publishers of nonfiction material for all grades will discuss their upcoming titles.

February 23

  • 2010 Access to Learning Award: Veria Central Public Library, Greece
    (12:00 – 1:00 p.m. CT; 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. MT; online webinar)
    The 2010 Access to Learning Award recipient, the Veria Central Public Library, has emerged as a leader in Greece by offering a range of services and programs for children and adults, and helping other libraries replicate its success. Its creative use of information and technology services meet the economic, educational, and cultural needs of its community. Join us for this webinar with library director, Ioannis Trohopoulos, to hear about Veria Library's responsive programming, strong community partnerships, and successful services.
  • Learning Express Library
    (1:00 – 2:00 p.m. CT, 12;00 – 1:00 p.m. MT; online webinar)

February 25

February 28

March

March 4: Public Library Survey: a RACE webinar
(2:00 - 3:00 p.m. CT; 1:00 - 2:00 p.m. MT; online webinar)

March 8: Basic Cataloging: a RACE webinar
(2:00 - 3:00 p.m. CT; 1:00 - 2:00 p.m. MT: online webinar )

March 24: School Library Survey Basics: a RACE webinar
(4:30 - 5:30 p.m. CT; 3:30 - 4:30 p.m. MT; online webinar)

Archived Opportunities

Review Archived Opportunities

 

 

 

continuing education, electronic resources, survey, webinar

next: Children's & YA Services | Table of Contents

prev: Library Headlines

Share |   

The Cornerstone monthly e-newsletter is created by the South Dakota State Library. For more information on how to be a part of this newsletter, please contact us via e-mail with your questions and ideas.