Subscribe in a reader

October 2012, Volume 4, Issue 9

Continuing Education Alert


Check Your Calendars!!

One Book South Dakota 2012

Banned Books Week
Sept. 30 - Oct. 6

Banned Websites Awareness Day
Oct. 3

SDLA Annual Conference
Oct. 3-5

Teen Read Week
Oct. 14-20

National Friends of Libraries Week
Oct. 21-27

National Novel Writing Month
November

International Games Day
Nov. 3

American Education Week
Nov. 11-17


SIRSFeatured e-Resources of the Month
SIRS is your US Presidential election source and more


Continuing Education

 

RACE Webinars

Turn On, Tune In, and Get Social Updates
Presented by Stacia McGourty
Tuesday, Oct. 23, 3:00 - 4:00 pm CT; 2:00 - 3:00 pm MT
Wednesday, Oct. 31, 11:00 - 12:00 pm CT; 10:00 - 11:00 am MT
What the heck are all these kids twittering about? Social media has been dominating the library landscape, but how comfortable are you? This webinar will look at updates since last spring and discuss some of the basic social media tools — Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube. We'll look at who's using social media and how social media can help your library connect to your patrons. Register Today!

CSLP Copyright and Rules of Use
Presented by Jasmine Rockwell and CSLP
Wednesday, Oct. 24, 10:30 - 11:30 am CT; 9:30 - 10:30 am MT
Every year the Collaborative Summer Library Program (CSLP) has fantastic, original artwork created to enhance the summer reading program manual that it produces. Just like any original piece of artwork, there are copyright rules for this artwork. Join the CSLP Copyright and Rules of Use Committee Chair for this one hour webinar explaining how you can use the artwork on the disc that accompanies the summer reading program manual you will be receiving in October. Register Today!

21st Century School Library Self-Assessment: a RACE webinar
Thursday, Oct. 25, 4:00 - 5:00 pm CT; 3:00 - 4:00 pm MT
Is your school library still operating under 20th century guidelines? Or, has your school library already moved forward into the 21st century and could use some further direction? Join us to learn about ways you and your administrators can use the new 21st Century Self-Assessment tool to assess and guide your current practices. The new tool is based on the SD School Library Guidelines and also contains everything you need to know to apply for South Dakota's new 21st Century School Library Award. Register Today!

 

More Continuing Education Opportunities

October 2

5 Ways to Ratchet up Your Fundraising Using LinkedIn
(2:00 pm – 3:00 pm CT; 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm MT; online webinar)
nonprofitwebinars.com

 

October 3

What's New for Storytimes
(2:00 pm – 3:00 pm CT; 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm MT; online webinar)
infopeople.org

Nonprofit Boards and Effective Governance
(12:00 pm – 1:00 pm CT; 11:00 am - 12:00 pm MT; online webinar)
nonprofitwebinars.com

How to Overcome Your Board's Fear of Fundraising, Once and for All
(2:00 pm – 3:00 pm CT; 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm MT; online webinar)
nonprofitwebinars.com

 

October 9

Personal Gadgets and the Library
(2:00 pm – 3:00 pm CT; 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm MT; online webinar)
infopeople.org

 

October 10

Telling Your Story: Five Secrets for Successful Career Growth and Advancement
(2:00 pm – 3:00 pm CT; 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm MT; online webinar)
infopeople.org

Financial Roles for Non-Financial Staff
(12:00 pm – 1:00 pm CT; 11:00 am – 12:00 pm MT; online webinar)
nonprofitwebinars.com

 

October 16

R.E.S.P.E.C.T. Your Data
(2:00 pm – 3:00 pm CT; 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm MT; online webinar)
nonprofitwebinars.com

Incubate leadership @ your library
(1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT; 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm MT; online webinar)
webjunction.org

 

October 17

100 New Donors in 90 Days: A Step-by-Step Process
(2:00 pm – 3:00 pm CT; 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm MT; online webinar)
nonprofitwebinars.com

 

October 24

How to Govern Adaptive Work Systems: The Power of Strengths in Relationships
(12:00 pm – 1:00 pm CT; 11:00 am – 12:00 pm MT; online webinar)
nonprofitwebinars.com

 

 

 

 

21st Century, continuing education, school libraries, social media, summer reading

next: Children's and YA Services

prev: Library Headlines | Table of Contents

Share |   

The Cornerstone monthly e-newsletter is created by the South Dakota State Library. For more information on how to be a part of this newsletter, please contact us via e-mail with your questions and ideas.