Subscribe in a reader

September 2015, Volume 7, Issue 8

Continuing Education Alert


Check Your Calendars!!

Library Card Sign-up Month
September

National Children's Good Manners Month
September

Labor Day
September 7

International Literacy Day
September 8

Patriot Day
September 11

Carl Garner Federal Lands Cleanup Day
September 12

National Grandparents Day
September 13

National Hispanic Heritage Month
September 15- October 15

Lead the Change Maker Workshop
September 16, online

Constitution Day
September 17

National POW/MIA Recognition Day
September 18

Talk Like a Pirate Day
September 19

The International Day of Peace
September 21

SDLA Conference: Preparing for a Bright Future
September 23-25

School Library Journal Leadership Summit
September 26-27, Seattle

Banned Books Week
September 27- October 3

Banned Websites Awareness Day
September 30

International School Library Month
October

National Fossil Day
October 14

The Digital Shift
October 14, online

Teen Read Week
October 18-24

National Friends of the Libraries Week
October 18-24

Give Me 20 Fall Challenge
October 19-December 11, 2015

Read for the Record
October 22, 2015

School Library Chats
October 28, 2015


Featured e-Resources of the Month
Back to school, back to business


continuing education opportunities

 

September 2015 Continuing Education Opportunities

September 8
Earning Respect From Students, Parents, and Colleagues;
Sponsored by edWeb.net; (4:00-5:00 pm CT; 3:00-4:00 pm MT; online webinar)

 

September 9
Making Schools a Game Worth Playing: Digital Games in the Classroom;
Sponsored by edWeb.net; (3:00-4:00 pm CT; 2:00-3:00 pm MT; online webinar)

NCompass Live: Your Digital Footprint: Managing Your Online Identity;
Sponsored by NCompass Live; (10:00 am-11:00 am CT; 9:00-10:00 am MT; online webinar)

 

September 10
Supporting the Development of Children's Approaches to Learning with Music and Movement Activities;
Sponsored by edWeb.net; (2:00-3:00 pm CT; 1:00-2:00 pm MT; online webinar)

Growing Through Conflict: Healthy Workplace Communication;
Sponsored by WebJunction; (2:00-3:00 pm CT; 1:00-2:00 pm MT; online webinar)

 

September 15
Storytime Underground: A Peer-Created Community;
Sponsored by Webjunction; (12:00-1:00 pm CT; 11:00 am -12:00 pm MT; online webinar)

Isn't It Romantic?: New Romance Titles for Your Library;
Sponsored by Booklist Webinar; (1:00-2:00 pm CT; 12:00-1:00 pm MT; online webinar)

 

September 16
NCompass Live: Board in the Stacks: Developing a Board Game Collection for your Library;
Sponsored by NCompass Live; (10:00 am-11:00 am CT; 9:00-10:00 am MT; online webinar)

 

September 21
Re-inventing the Wheel: A Fresh Look at Maker Ed;
Sponsored by edWeb.net; (3:00-4:00 pm CT; 2:00-3:00 pm MT; online webinar)

 

September 24
Laptops, Tablets, and Chromebooks? BYOD? Practical Advice to Help You Find Your School's Solution;
Sponsored by edWeb.net; (2:00-3:00 pm CT; 1:00-2:00 pm MT; online webinar)

 

 

 

 


prev: Library Headlines | next: Children's and YA services

Table of Contents

continuing education

Share |   

The Cornerstone monthly e-newsletter is created by the South Dakota State Library. For more information on how to be a part of this newsletter, please contact us via e-mail with your questions and ideas.