Skip to main content

Children's & Youth Services | South Dakota Children's Book Awards | Sample Press Release

Sample Press Release

Here is a sample press release you can use or modify to help promote your school's participation in the South Dakota Children's Book Awards:

Date: [Date]

For Immediate Release

Students to Pick Book Award Winners

Students at [Name of School] will help decide the winners of the three South Dakota Children's Book Awards. Children in grades PK-1st will read and vote for books nominated to win the Prairie Bud Award. Second and third graders will read books vying for the Prairie Bloom Award. The Prairie Pasque Award is chosen by 4th-5th graders. Nominations are compiled by a committee of South Dakota librarians and educators who read and review every book to determine its appropriateness for the annual awards. Books are selected for their quality and potential popularity with children.

The reading of Prairie Award nominees officially begins in the fall with each new school year. Awards voting begins October 1 and concludes April 1. The student may cast a ballot for any book they have read or had read to them. PK-1st grade students may vote for any of the books they enjoyed reading and feel would be deserving of the Prairie Bud award. 2nd-3rd grade students may vote for any of the books they enjoyed reading and feel would be deserving of the Prairie Bloom award. 4th-5th grade students may vote for any of the books they have read by ranking them on a 3-point scale. Students can vote online at school, home or in the [Name of Local Public Library]. The South Dakota State Library tallies all votes and each award is given to the book receiving the most votes from across the state. Winning titles are announced during National Library Week in April.

The Prairie Pasque Award was first given in 1987 to Ivy Ruckman for her book, Night of the Twisters. Other winners include Phyllis Reynolds Naylor for Shiloh, David Pateneaude for Someone Was Watching, and Louis Sachar for Holes. The Prairie Bud Award was created by the Prairie Valley Reading Council and has been given annually since 1998. Winners include The Toll-Bridge Troll by Patricia Wolff, Rotten Teeth by Laura Simms, and Look-Alikes by Joan Steiner. Books nominated for the Prairie Awards are available at our school and public libraries. For more information, please contact [Your Name and Phone Number/Email].

The Prairie Bud, Prairie Bloom & Prairie Pasque Children's Book Awards are sponsored by the South Dakota Library Association . Prairie Bud winners are determined by South Dakota pre-kindergarten, kindergarten, and first grade students. Prairie Bloom winners are determined by South Dakota second and third grade students. Prairie Pasque winners are determined by South Dakota fourth and fifth grade students. Students are encouraged to read and vote for their one favorite book of the year from the masterlists of titles. The books receiving the most votes from the students win the awards. A committee of educators and librarians select the books nominated for the awards.

The South Dakota Library Association (SDLA) is a statewide organization representing libraries, library employees, library trustees, and library supporters. SDLA provides leadership and educational opportunities, and supports its members in meeting the challenges of providing quality library service to all South Dakotans.

Children's book awards prairie bud bloom pasque award logos
And the Prairie Awards Winners are...

South Dakota State Library Cornerstone
SDSL's e-Newsletter articles include:
  - Children and YA Services
  - Maker Spaces
  - School Libraries
  - Summer Reading
and many more!

A School Library Blog from SDSL
 collect plus connect logo


Laura Kelly EMAIL
Children's & Youth Services Coordinator
605-773-3131, Option 5, 1

Alissa Adams EMAIL
School Library Technology Coordinator
605-773-3131, Option 5, 3

The South Dakota State Library provides leadership for innovation and excellence in libraries and services to state government.

South Dakota State Library | South Dakota State Historical Society | South Dakota Department of Education | State of South Dakota

Accessibility Policy | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy