Skip to main content

Braille & Talking Book

Access Services

Library Outreach/ LSTA


South Dakota State Library
MacKay Building
800 Governors Dr.
Pierre, SD 57501

1-605-773-6962 (FAX)
(SD Only)

Hours: Mon-Fri
8 am - 5 pm CT
7 am - 4 pm MT

Follow Me on Pinterest

About SDSL | Publications | News and Press Releases | Libraries to receive funding for computers, technology training

Press Release

For Immediate Release: July 16, 2009
Contact: Mary Stadick Smith, South Dakota Department of Education, (605) 773-7228, Email Link

Libraries to receive funding for computers, technology training

PIERRE, S.D.- Twenty-five South Dakota libraries will benefit from the third round of the Opportunity Online Hardware Grants from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation's U.S. Libraries initiative.

The funds will allow public libraries to obtain and maintain sufficient numbers of computer workstations. Eligible libraries can use the money for hardware upgrades, software, and technology support to ensure that their computers will adequately serve the public for years to come.

The South Dakota State Library will administer the grants, and each community library will have to provide an escalating local match to the grant funds over the next two years.

The 25 South Dakota libraries receiving Gates grants are:

  • A.H. Brown Public Library, Mobridge
  • Alexander Mitchell Public Library, Aberdeen
  • Alexandria Public Library, Alexandria
  • Armour Public Library, Armour
  • Belle Fourche Public Library, Belle Fourche
  • Bison Public Library, Bison
  • Deadwood Public Library, Deadwood
  • Emma Burnham Public Library, Frederick
  • Faulk County Library, Faulkton
  • Grant County Public Library, Milbank
  • Grant County Public Library Branch, Revillo
  • Ihanktonwan Community/College Library, Marty
  • Kimball Centennial Library, Kimball
  • Leola Public Library, Leola
  • Marcus P. Beebe Memorial Library, Ipswich
  • Moody County Resource Center, Flandreau
  • Oglala Lakota College Library, Kyle
  • Phoebe Apperson Hearst Library, Lead
  • Rev. Martin Bieber Public Library, Bowdle
  • Selby Community/School Library, Selby
  • Sinte Gleska University Library, Mission
  • Sisseton Memorial Library, Sisseton
  • Vermillion Public Library, Vermillion
  • Wagner Public Library, Wagner
  • Whitewood Public Library, Whitewood


Contact Daria Bossman at the South Dakota State Library at (800) 423-6665.

This article has been archived and may not be current.
December 2010

Press Release
"State Library recognizes 21st Century School Libraries
posted Monday June 3, 2019

State Library Board
July 11, 2019: Pierre

The South Dakota State Library provides leadership for innovation and excellence in libraries and services to state government.

South Dakota State Library | South Dakota State Historical Society | South Dakota Department of Education | State of South Dakota

Accessibility Policy | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy