Congratulations to the following winners for the 2014-2015 South Dakota Children's Book Awards:

Prairie Bud 2014-2015 Winner
book cover of A is for Musk Ox

A is for Musk Ox by Erin Cabatingan and Matthew Myers (Illustrator)

Prairie Pasque 2014-2015 Winner
book cover of Wonder

Wonder by R.J. Palacio

south dakota childrens book awards logo




A is for Musk Ox Erin Cabatingan and Matthew Myers (Illustrator) 2015-2016 Prairie Bud (JK-1st) WINNER
Heroes of the Surf: A Rescue Story Based on True Events Elisa Carbone   Prairie Bud (JK-1st)
Question Boy Meets Little Miss Know-It-All Peter Catalanotto Prairie Bud (JK-1st)
The Cloud Spinner Michael Catchpool   Prairie Bud (JK-1st)
Victricia Malicia: Book Loving Buccaneer Carrie Clickard Prairie Bud (JK-1st)
Nelly May has Her Say Cynthia DeFelice Prairie Bud (JK-1st)
Being Frank Donna W. Earnhardt Prairie Bud (JK-1st)
Barnum's Bones: How Barnum Brown Discovered the Most Famous Dinosaur in the World Tracey Fern Prairie Bud (JK-1st)
Curious Critters David FitzSimmons Prairie Bud (JK-1st)
Ralph Tells a Story Abby Hanlon   Prairie Bud (JK-1st)
Oh No, George! Chris Haughton   Prairie Bud (JK-1st)
Lemonade in Winter: A Book about Two Kids Counting Money Emily Jenkins | | Prairie Bud (JK-1st)
My Happy Life Rose Lagercrantz Prairie Bud (JK-1st)
The Long, Long Journey: The Godwit's Amazing Migration Sandra Markle Prairie Bud (JK-1st)
A Home for Bird Philip C. Stead Prairie Bud (JK-1st)
The Quiet Place Sarah Stewart   Prairie Bud (JK-1st)


Wonder R.J. Palacio 2014-2015 Prairie Pasque (4th-5th) WINNER
Fifty Cents and a Dream: Young Booker T. Washington Jabari Asim Prairie Pasque (4th-5th)
Go for the Goal! Fred Bowen Prairie Pasque (4th-5th)
Freaky Fast Frankie Joe Lutricia Clifton Prairie Pasque (4th-5th)
The Second Life of Abigail Walker Frances O'Roark Dowell | Prairie Pasque (4th-5th)
The Matchbox Diary Paul Fleischman   Prairie Pasque (4th-5th)
The Adventures of Beanboy Lisa Harkrader Prairie Pasque (4th-5th)
Tua and the Elephant R.P. Harris Prairie Pasque (4th-5th)
Cowboys: Voices in the Western Wind David L. Harrison   Prairie Pasque (4th-5th)
Zombie Makers: True Stories of Nature's Undead Rebecca L. Johnson | Prairie Pasque (4th-5th)
The President's Stuck in the Bathtub: Poems about the Presidents Susan Katz   Prairie Pasque (4th-5th)
Island of Thieves Josh Lacey | Prairie Pasque (4th-5th)
Auntie Yang's Great Soybean Picnic Ginnie Lo Prairie Pasque (4th-5th)
Buffalo Bird Girl: A Hidatsa Story S.D. Nelson Prairie Pasque (4th-5th)
The Spindlers Lauren Oliver | Prairie Pasque (4th-5th)
Dogs on Duty: Soldiers' Best Friends on the Battlefield and Beyond Dorothy Hinshaw Patent   Prairie Pasque (4th-5th)

*SDTTG: South Dakota Titles to Go is South Dakota's audiobook and ebook library provided through Overdrive.

SDLA Committees

South Dakota Library Association

Children and Youth Services Coordinator

Laura Kelly

1-605-773-3131 (Option 5, 1)