FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Friday, Feb. 21, 2020

Mary Stadick Smith, South Dakota Department of Education, 1-605-773-7228 , or
Ruth Raveling, South Dakota Department of Education, 1-605-773-2593 ,

Newly accredited public libraries honored in Capitol rotunda

PIERRE, S.D. — Thirteen South Dakota public libraries have been accredited by the State Library in 2020. They were recently honored in front of lawmakers, library colleagues and community members at the Capitol rotunda during an event held in conjunction with the annual South Dakota Library Association Library Legislative Day.

Accredited libraries demonstrate that they meet important benchmarks for providing high quality library services to their communities. Public libraries are accredited at one of three levels: Essential, Enhanced or Exemplary. Libraries are evaluated in the following areas, as outlined in South Dakota Public Library Standards: governance, administration, access, collections and resources, funding, staffing, technology and public relations.

The following libraries have been accredited:

  • Beresford Public Library – Enhanced
  • Rev Martin Bieber Public Library (Bowdle) – Essential
  • Emil M. Larson Public Library (Clark) – Essential
  • Dell Rapids Carnegie Public Library – Enhanced
  • Edgemont Public Library – Essential
  • Freeman Public Library – Essential
  • Harrisburg Community Library – Essential
  • Keystone Town Library – Essential
  • North Sioux City Community Library – Essential
  • Rapid City Public Library – Exemplary
  • Grace Balloch Memorial Library (Spearfish) – Exemplary
  • Edith B. Siegrist Vermillion Public Library – Exemplary
  • Wessington Public Library – Essential

Detailed requirements for each level of tiered accreditation, as well as a complete list of all currently accredited libraries, are available on the South Dakota State Library's website at .