FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Wednesday May 27, 2020

Mary Stadick Smith, South Dakota Department of Education, 1-605-773-7228 , or
Ruth Raveling, South Dakota Department of Education, 1-605-773-2593 ,

State Library recognizes 21st Century School Libraries

PIERRE, S.D. — The South Dakota State Library has announced the 2020 recipients of the 21st Century School Library Award. The 21st Century School Library Award recognizes school libraries as Effective, Enhanced or Exemplary, based on performance in three areas: place, which refers to the learning environment (both physical and online), programming and the professional.

Applicants conduct a self-assessment and provide evidence of their ability to meet South Dakota's guidelines for school libraries. Award status is valid for a three-year period.

The libraries will be honored in fall 2020.

gold black congratulations banner

School Library Librarian Administrator Level


Douglas Middle School Library, Box Elder Melissa Hubbell Greg Seefeldt Exemplary 2020-2023
Harrisburg Middle School Library, Harrisburg Kristi Jones Darren Ellwein Exemplary 2020-2023
Horizon Elementary School Library, Harrisburg Leslee Reiland Lisa Garrett Exemplary 2020-2023
Madison Central School Libraries, Madison Joanne Kallhoff Adam Shaw, Cotton Koch, Janel Guse Exemplary 2020-2023
Robert Frost Elementary School Library, Sioux Falls Korey Erickson Lynn Gillette Exemplary 2020-2023
West Central Middle/High School Library, Hartford DaNann Kistler Melinda Jensen Exemplary 2020-2023
West Middle School Library, Rapid City Shelley Rath Dan Conrad Exemplary 2020-2023
Elk Point-Jefferson School Libraries, Elk Point Deedra Holdhusen Janet Ries, Skyler Eriksen Enhanced 2020-2023
Piedmont Valley Elementary Library, Sturgis Elementary Library, and Whitewood Elementary Library; Meade 46-1, Sturgis Heidi Kruse Chantal Ligtenberg; Ethan Dschaak; Brittan Porterfield Effective 2020-2023
Rapid Valley Elementary School Library, Rapid City Jennifer Backhaus Cher Daniel Effective 2020-2023

Find more information on the State Library's 21st Century School Library Award webpage.