FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Monday, December 18, 2023

Mary Stadick Smith , South Dakota Department of Education, 1-605-773-7228
Nancy Van Der Weide , South Dakota Department of Education, 1-605-773-2593 ,

Seven South Dakota public libraries earn accreditation

PIERRE, S.D. — Seven South Dakota public libraries were accredited by the State Library for 2024. These accreditations designate these libraries as some of the best in the state. Accreditations signify that they are meeting important benchmarks for providing high quality library services to their communities.

Accreditation in South Dakota is voluntary, and public libraries are accredited at one of three levels: Essential, Enhanced, or Exemplary.

"By participating in this volunteer program, the staff and trustees of these libraries prove their commitment to quality library services," said State Librarian George Seamon. "I invite all who live in these communities to go to your library and experience what they have to offer."

Accredited libraries must meet the South Dakota Public Library Standards in the areas of governance, administration, access, collections and resources, funding, staffing, technology, and public relations.

The following libraries were awarded accreditation:

  • Canton Public Library - Essential
  • Custer County Library - Exemplary
  • Piedmont Valley Library - Essential
  • R E Rawlins Municipal Library (Pierre) - Exemplary
  • Scotland Community Library - Essential
  • Tripp County Library Grossenburg Memorial - Enhanced
  • Wall Community Library - Essential

Accreditation is valid for three years. A complete list of all currently accredited libraries is available on the South Dakota State Library's website .