The Prairie Bud, Prairie Bloom & Prairie Pasque Children's Book Awards are sponsored by the South Dakota Library Association . Prairie Bud winners are determined by South Dakota pre-kindergarten, kindergarten, and first grade students. Prairie Bloom winners are determined by South Dakota second and third grade students. Prairie Pasque winners are determined by South Dakota fourth and fifth grade students. Students are encouraged to read and vote for their one favorite book of the year from the masterlists of titles. The books receiving the most votes from the students win the awards. A committee of educators and librarians select the books nominated for the awards.

Until 2016, the Prairie Bud winners were determined by South Dakota kindergarten through second grade students and Prairie Pasque winners were determined by South Dakota third through fifth grade students.

The Prairie Bud Award was created by the Prairie Valley Reading Council and started in 1998. The Prairie Pasque Award was first given in 1987.

South Dakota Childrens Book awards logo

Children's Book Awards Winner's Bookshelf



Madeline Finn and the Library Dog Lisa Papp | 2018-2019 Prairie Bud Winner
Best Frints in the Whole Universe Antoinette Portis 2018-2019 Prairie Bloom Winner
Step Right Up: How Doc and Jim Key Taught the World about Kindness Donna Janell Bowman 2018-2019 Prairie Pasque Winner


Stick and Stone Beth Ferry and Tom Lichtenheld (Illustrator) 2017-2018 Prairie Bud Winner
The Most Amazing Creature in the Sea Brenda Z. Guiberson and Gennady Spirin (Illustrator)   2017-2018 Prairie Bloom Winner
Hiawatha and the Peacemaker Robbie Robertson and David Shannon (Illustrator) | 2017-2018 Prairie Pasque Winner


Gaston Kelly DiPucchio and Christian Robinson (Illustrator)   2016-2017 Prairie Bud Winner
Dog vs. Cat Chris Gall   2016-2017 Prairie Bloom Winner
The Whispering Town Jennifer Elvgren and Fabio Santomauro (Illustrator) | | 2016-2017 Prairie Pasque Winner


Outfoxed Mike Twohy   2015-2016 Prairie Bud Winner
Duke Kirby Larson   2015-2016 Prairie Pasque Winner


A is for Musk Ox Erin Cabatingan and Matthew Myers (Illustrator)   2014-2015 Prairie Bud Winner
Wonder R.J. Palacio 2014-2015 Prairie Pasque Winner


Press Here Herve Tellet   2013-2014 Prairie Bud Winner
Harry Houdini: The Legend of the World's Greatest Escape Artist Janice Weaver and Chris Lane (Illustrator)   2013-2014 Prairie Pasque Winner


Even Monsters Need Haircuts Matthew McElligott   2012-2013 Prairie Bud Winner
Out of My Mind Sharon M. Draper   2012-2013 Prairie Pasque Winner


Rhyming Dust Bunnies Jan Thomas   2011-2012 Prairie Bud Winner
Bad News for Outlaws Vaunda Micheaux Nelson and R. Gregory Christie (Illustrator)   2011-2012 Prairie Pasque Winner


Mail Harry to the Moon Robie Harris and Michael Emberley (Illustrator)   2010-2011 Prairie Bud Winner
Bodies from the Ice James Deem   2010-2011 Prairie Pasque Winner


Fabulous Bouncing Chowder Peter Brown   2009-2010 Prairie Bud Winner
How to Steal a Dog Barbara O'Connor   2009-2010 Prairie Pasque Winner


Chickens to the Rescue John Himmelman   2008-2009 Prairie Bud Winner
The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane Kate DiCamillo and Bagram Ibatoulline (Illustrator) | 2008-2009 Prairie Pasque Winner


I Ain't Gonna Paint No More! Karen Beaumont and David Catrow (Illustrator)   2007-2008 Prairie Bud Winner
Ghost's Grave Peg Kehret   2007-2008 Prairie Pasque Winner


Superdog: The Heart of a Hero Caralyn Buehner and Mark Buehner (Illustrator)   2006-2007 Prairie Bud Winner
Abduction! Peg Kehret   2006-2007 Prairie Pasque Winner


Diary of a Worm Doreen Cronin and Harry Bliss (Illustrator)   2005-2006 Prairie Bud Winner
Spy Cat Peg Kehret   2005-2006 Prairie Pasque Winner


Penny Lee and Her TV Glenn McCoy   2004-2005 Prairie Bud Winner
Double Fudge Judy Blume 2004-2005 Prairie Pasque Winner


Wait! No Paint! Bruce Whatley   2003-2004 Prairie Bud Winner
Skeleton Man Joseph Bruchac   2003-2004 Prairie Pasque Winner


Baby Beebee Bird Diane Redfield Massie and Steven Kellogg (Illustrator)   2002-2003 Prairie Bud Winner
Because of Winn-Dixie Kate DiCamillo | 2002-2003 Prairie Pasque Winner


- no Prairie Bud winner -      
Bud, Not Buddy Christopher Paul Curtis | 2001-2002 Prairie Pasque Winner


Look-Alikes Joan Steiner   2000-2001 Prairie Bud Winner
Holes Louis Sachar 2000-2001 Prairie Pasque Winner


Rotten Teeth Laura Simms and David Catrow (Illustrator)   1999-2000 Prairie Bud Winner
The Adventures of Captain Underpants: an Epic Novel Dav Pilkey 1999-2000 Prairie Pasque Winner


My Little Sister Ate One Hare Bill Grossman   2006-2007 Prairie Bud Winner
Frindle Andrew Clements and Brian Selznick (Illustrator) 2006-2007 Prairie Pasque Winner


Toll-Bridge Troll Patricia Rae Wolff and Kimberly Bulcken Root (Illustrator)   1997-1998 Prairie Bud Winner
Titanic Crossing Barbara Williams   1997-1998 Prairie Pasque Winner


The Best School Year Ever Barbara Robinson   1996-1997 Prairie Pasque Winner


Someone Was Watching David Patneaude   1995-1996 Prairie Pasque Winner


Devil's Bridge Cynthia De Felice   1994-1995 Prairie Pasque Winner


Shiloh Phyllis Reynolds Naylor   1993-1994 Prairie Pasque Winner


Hugh Glass, Mountain Man Robert M. McClung   1992-1993 Prairie Pasque Winner


The Doll in the Garden Mary Downing Hahn   1991-1992 Prairie Pasque Winner


All About Sam Lois Lowry   1990-1991 Prairie Pasque Winner


This Island Isn't Big Enough for the Four of Us! Gery Greer and Bob Ruddick   1989-1990 Prairie Pasque Winner


Royal Pain Ellen Conford   1988-1989 Prairie Pasque Winner


Switcharound Lois Lowry   1987-1988 Prairie Pasque Winner


Night of the Twisters Ivy Ruckman   1986-1987 Prairie Pasque Winner

*SDTTG: South Dakota Titles to Go is South Dakota's audiobook and ebook library provided through Overdrive.

SDLA Committees

South Dakota Library Association

PO Box 283
Lennox, South Dakota 57039


Children and Youth Services Coordinator

Laura Kelly

1-605-773-3131 (Option 5, 1)