FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Thursday May 27, 2021

Mary Stadick Smith, South Dakota Department of Education, 1-605-773-7228 , or
Ruth Raveling, South Dakota Department of Education, 1-605-773-2593 ,

State Library recognizes 21st Century School Libraries

PIERRE, S.D. — The South Dakota State Library has announced the 2021 recipients of the 21st Century School Library Award. The 21st Century School Library Award recognizes school libraries as Effective, Enhanced or Exemplary, based on performance in three areas: place (which refers to the learning environment, both physical and online), programming and the professional.

Applicants conduct a self-assessment and provide evidence of their ability to meet South Dakota's guidelines for school libraries. Award status is valid for a three-year period.

School Library Librarian Administrator Level


Belle Fourche Middle School Library Karen Schlekeway Kevin Smidt Exemplary 2021-2024
Brookings High School Library Jean Kirschenman Paul vonFischer Exemplary 2021-2024
Flandreau Middle/High School Library Lori Williams Brian Relf, Nichole Herzog Exemplary 2021-2024
Lincoln High School Library (Sioux Falls) Mary Peters Dr. Laura Raeder Exemplary 2021-2024
Patrick Henry Middle School Library (Sioux Falls) Wendy Nelson Kim Sharping Exemplary 2021-2024
Roosevelt High School Library (Sioux Falls) Michelle Clayberg Tim Hazlett Exemplary 2021-2024
Spearfish High School Library Emily Benvenga Steve Morford Exemplary 2021-2024
T.F. Riggs High School Library (Pierre) Pamela Kringel Kevin Mutchelknaus Exemplary 2021-2024
Washington High School Library (Sioux Falls) Kerri Smith Kari Papke Exemplary 2021-2024
Watertown High School Library Kris O'Brien Brad Brandsrud Exemplary 2021-2024
Explorer Elementary School Library (Harrisburg) Amy DeNomme Douglas Eppard Enhanced 2021-2024
Freedom Elementary School Library (Harrisburg) Tyler Muth Tanja Pederson Enhanced 2021-2024
Huron High School Library Rachel Kary Mike Radke, Linda Pietz Enhanced 2021-2024

Find more information on the State Library's 21st Century School Library Award webpage.